Jer In Space – Overview/Day 1

So. For those of you who are taking the time to read this, thanks. Not everyone will be interested in what I’m doing for the next few days, and that’s okay. For those who ARE interested to in what I may find/learn, this will be the place to be.

I’m going to post pictures, videos & words– but I’ll hopefully be able to capture some audio too.

For those reading this who have NO IDEA what I’m doing, here’s the gist:

NASA has a division called NASA Social. Which gives opportunities to regular Joes/Josephines like us the chance to view NASA events up close & personal by granting us Social Media Credentials. There is an application/selection process. There is the requirement of having to have social media accounts. And there is the requirement of having to pay your way. This ain’t no free ride. But if you’re interested & curious enough to take part- you’ll find a way. As I did.

The specific launch/NASA Social I am taking part in is SpaceX Commercial Resupply (CRS) Launch 6. Here’s the excerpt from NASA’s website:

 Launching from Cape Canaveral Air Force Station, Fla., SpaceX’s sixth commercial resupply mission under NASA contract to the space station will deliver several tons of supplies, including new science experiments and technology research

“Okay, Jer. That’s cool. So what exactly are YOU doing there?” Well, pal- myself and about 45 others will be converging on Titusville, FL/Kennedy Space Center (KSC) today & tomorrow. On Sunday, we check in, get badged and begin touring KSC. If you’re super curious on the details, click the images below.

Screen Shot 2015-04-11 at 12.25.16 PM

Screen Shot 2015-04-11 at 12.25.27 PM

 

Also, I’ll level with you: I’m NOT a space expert. Not even close. And I’m attending this thing with kids who are freakin future aerospace engineers. So yah, I’m a little intimidated being someone who is more into the romanticized side of outer space. The last frontier. Modern day cowboys. Extraterrestrial life. Muppets in Space. etc. That type of stuff.

I’m sitting here writing this from the gate that will take me on a plane to Orlando and am excited what I’ll be able to share. I’m not totally sure what I hope to get out of this experience. But just like my feelings on space, itself- this is a new frontier for me. Here’s to the unknown.

FullSizeRender

Leave a Reply

